People getting drunk

Dad came back extremely intoxicated, took a while for him to sober up and that’s probably when I saw my parents’ relationship just tear itself into pieces right before my very eyes.

Firstly, I would like to extend a huge ‘fuck you’ to the bunch of kakis who I assume brought him drinking and brought him home (although I never saw any of their faces). Why would you let a broken man drink so much? This isn’t even about machismo or ‘bro-nding’, it’s about doing what’s best for your ‘friend’; which in this case would have been to NOT let him drink so much. Emphasis on NOT.

Anyway, when he finally half-sobered up, my dad went on mumbling and shouting a pattern of a few sentences.

“Lanjiao la chibai la”

“I’m lost my job!”

“What kind of wife are you?”

“Fuck you”

Not a very flattering display of his eloquence but not that he had much to begin with anyway. One way or another I just kept on thinking about Henrik Ibsen’s “A Doll’s House”. He did moan and groan a lot while he was still unconscious. The most messed up thing he said to me (most of his anger was directed towards my mother) was that ” ‘Yan, when you grow up, don’t marry this kind of woman.” with much exasperation and an extremely pathetic look on his face.

I brought up “A Doll’s House” mainly because what resonated with me was Ibsen’s inspiration for writing “A Doll’s House”. His parents’ worsening marital relationship and this farce of a perfect marriage. I had been aware that hidden beneath the surface of their relationship were huge stress-lines from disagreements in the past, but I guess getting fired was my father’s breaking point.

It’s not everyday you get to see your parents have this sort of breakdown, and especially not what you would expect after booking out from camp and just enjoying life in your peaceful home; only to find your family situation turned upside down by your father’s drunken rage. Maybe I exaggerate, but honestly I would have never imagined that this would happen.

And … his rage continues with a flurry of expletives flying up, down, left, right center.

I’m gonna try and sleep

Leave a comment